About Me

Hi! I’m Jess, I’m in my early 20s, I live in Buckinghamshire with my boyfriend and I love sewing, yoga, tea and books.

Although I’m a keen amateur dressmaker, my day job is as an Event Organiser in Central London and I’m also a trained yoga teacher.

My love of sewing started early in life as I grew up surrounded by some very talented sewists like my Mum and Grandma. I always admired their abilities and I loved going fabric shopping, looking at notions and buttons. I even liked just being in the room when they were sewing. When I was little I did a few minor home sewing projects but I found a love of dressmaking in 2014 on my mums sewing machine and got my first machine in 2016.

Fast forward to 2020 and I bought a new advanced sewing machine! I am sewing regularly, making lots of different garments and experimenting with fit. In June 2020 I made the decision to give up fast fashion and I will be tracking my progress and journalling my successes and struggles as I go. I have come so far even just in the last year and I can’t wait to see where my sewing goes.

The name for this blog was inspired by the odd reaction I often get when I tell people I sew. When most people think of sewing they think of grannies, school textiles classes and 1940s housewives. The reality is that there are no restrictions to sewing, literally anyone can sew.

All it takes is practice and patience. I hope you enjoy my sewing journey, I will do my best to make it interesting and share my progress as well as my frustrations plus any tips I pick up along the way.

3 Fun Facts About Me

You all know that I sew but here’s a few other fun facts about me that you might not know!

I’ve been to 33 countries

I love travelling! I’ve been to 33 countries for holidays, conferences, volunteering, tours and I’ve even lived briefly in Paris and Sydney. I have a tattoo of a plane on my ankle to celebrate my gap year. My favourite country to visit is Greece.

I’m a qualified Yoga Teacher

As I mentioned above I really love Yoga. I’m actually a qualified level 3 yoga teacher and i currently teach on zoom! I have an instagram account if you want to give me a follow and I have a youtube channel with beginner friendly yoga flows.

I love hiking

I love walking in the countryside with my partner. We once walked 13 miles because we missed the only bus in Orkney and walking with Adam is my ultimate relaxation. Its wonderful to be outside in the fresh air.